Thread: Need to start somewhere.....

Junior SCH Member

Question Need to start somewhere.....

I wasn't sure where to post this as it is relative to superchargers, EFI and related items. I am a total newb to the thought of supercharging. I definetely understand the concept behind it but need help getting started should I decide to supercharge. I also apologize if there is a better place on the forum for this post.

The motor I am thinking of supercharging is a sbc 400 with fully forged internals and Dart pro 1 aluminum heads. I know I would need to change slugs to lower comp ratio. As you may have seen in my introduction post, I am on a budget so I'm looking for the most affordable way to do this. I'd like to make 600 or so HP.

1. What model of blowers (not roots) should I be scouring ebay for? Im seeing used and rebuilt units for anywhere between $800 and $1500.

2. Can a GM tpi unit with a bigger throttle body and injectors support the kind of power I'm looking for?

3 Is there a good aftermarket controller and harness to make this conversion easy? Fast EFI looks pretty user friendly but I don't know if they make an electronics kit that is boost friendly.

Thank you all in advance for any insight.

welcome
    what compression does the engine have now?
    are you dead set on EFI instead of a carb?
    does your camaro have this TPI set-up currently?
    lastly do any of the used units your seeing have mounting brackets, pulleys, intakes, etc???

Junior SCH Member
    Thanks for the reply!

Motor is currently 10:1 and carbureted. I know of a local guy with tons of efi take-off parts. You name it, he's got it. not to mention he's willing to sell me high flow runners, a ported plenum and all other necessary conversion parts for around $400. Seemed like a good thought to me.

I really like the efficiency and tunability of efi; especially when adding boost into the equation. That is why I am exploring that avenue.