Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How much am i looking at?

Junior SCH Member

How much am i looking at?

Hi there,i'm new to the supercharger scene,and i was looking around for superchargers,and the novi 1000 keapt popping up.So i'm VERY interested in one of those.I don't need too much power,it's gonna be a daily driven car,but my question is.How much would a novi 1000 set me back for a 2000 gt?I guess a used one would be better because they're cheaper :D.Any information would be apreciated.

The Novi 1000 is a pretty inexpensive blower with a good amount of potential. I would just get a new one, that way you can be
    sure everything is ok with it. But if you do get a used one, make sure it's the revised(2 belt) style. Go check out FourValve.com. That's where I got my Novi from. They have the best pricing I know of.
    -Ross

88 GT - Novi'd 302
    98 Cobra - N/A 281

Quote Originally Posted by Doug
    Of course we are talking about real boost from a Novi2K :D

Junior SCH Member
    They don't seem to have any superchargers at that site right now,so i'll keep checking with em.Also what's the difference between the old and the revied novi 1000?

someone please correct me if I am wrong but I think that all SC kits for the 98+GT's all use a single 6rib belt set up. The older Novi 1000 kits for the Fox Bodied Mustangs also used a 6 rib single belt set up. The new Foxbody kits are a 8 rib set up with a seperate drive belt.
    91 LX HB 5 speed, 3.08's,BBK shorty headers, 2.5"catted H-Pipe, 2.5" Super Turbo's, Paxton Novi 1000 single belt F-150 crank pulley 2.75 blower pulley, bosch bypass, 255 Walbro, Areomotive FPR, 73MM C&L MAM otherwise stock.

Junior SCH Member
    Also,is a bypass valve included in a new package?And is a by pass valve on a supercharger the same as a blow off valve on a turbo?And does it make the same sound?

As far as I know, the revised kit does not include a bypass valve.

Bypass & Blow-off are similiar but different (see below)