Thread: SC vs. S Trim.

SC vs. S Trim.

Just curious as to what exactly the differences are? I seem to be running the same pulley as other guy's online with SC's (I have an S) and I seem to get more boost. Any idea why?

Razor.
    2001 Cobra #719
    MODS: Vortech S-Trim, Aftercooler, Mini Race Bypass Valve, AFM Power Pipe, 90m.m. LMAF, 42# Injectors, Superchips Chip, 03 Cobra Fuel Pump, Trunk Mount Battery, Auto Meter Gauges, Solid Axle Swap, 4:10 Gears, O/R H-Pipe, Mac Cat-Back, Flowpath Mufflers, Pro 5.0 Shifter, Mac Subframe Connectors, D/S Safety Loop, McLeod Clutch, Steeda Sport Springs, Moser 31 Spline Axles, Eaton Posi, Granatelli Upper & Lower Control Arms, AFS 2003 Chrome Cobra Wheels (17x9, 17x10.5), 315/35/17 Nitto DR's.
    Dyno: 496 RWHP. & 422 RWT. (SAE Corrected)
    MY WEBSITE: Click Here
    ww.ModularFords.com -4V Forum Moderator

Senior SCH Member
    don't compare your S with any other unit, except an SQ .

boost is a funny thing. i am no pro on boost, but this is as i understand it, and i makes sense.

boost = the amount of restriction inside the engine.

example: an all stock engine with a S-Trim = 10 psi = 300hp
    add a better intake, heads, and headers = 6 psi = 400hp
    why more hp with lower boost ? more cfm = the engine is moving more air.

Junior SCH Member
    The SC uses a different impeller than the S trims. On an identical set-up motor, you will see at least 2# more with the S trim vs the SC trim at identical rpm and pulley sizes.

Jerome
    96 Cobra
    Rebuilt Motor
    Vortech S Trim with 3.12" pulley
    Full Saleen Body Kit
    Few other things...
    SAE Corrected 510rwhp 446rwt
    11.926 ET @119.88 mph 1.978 60FT

Originally posted by JeromeVobra
    The SC uses a different impeller than the S trims. On an identical set-up motor, you will see at least 2# more with the S trim vs the SC trim at identical rpm and pulley sizes.

Jerome