Thread: Surging problem at constant speed

Junior SCH Member

Surging problem at constant speed

I'm new to Supercharging and need help with a surging problem.
    I finished installing a V1 SC-Trim this weekend, it runs great while
    accelerating but won't hold a constant speed on the road with out
    surging. If I hold My foot steady, It's kind of like 5 seconds of normal
    followed by 4 seconds of no power and then back to normal, never
    ending cycle. It seems to be loading up, when I make a slow turn
    around, it coughs, pops and bucks until I blip the throttle hard to clear
    it.
    I thought it might be the FMU so I bypassed it to see how it would
    drive at part throttle, no change at all. So, I think fuel delivery is good,
    air delivery is real good (6 lbs.) and now I'm wondering about the
    possibility that it could be spark related. I would really appreciate any
    input. Here are the motor details.
    302, stock compression
    Adjustable FP regulator, set to 38lbs. at idle, hose off.
    Stock TFI distributor.
    10 degrees base timing, spout out.
    new plugs gapped at .030
    MSD 6A
    65mm TB
    75mm MAF
    24 lb. injectors
    E303 cam

Thanks; Tom

sounds like you need a bypass valve Tom. It is forcing air past the throttle blade. Do a search for bypass valve and you should be good to go.
    89 Coupe with parts stacked inside of it and about 30#'s of dust on it with no end in sight. :weird:

Although I am collecting parts for a 12.5:1 393 :D

Junior SCH Member
    Thanks for the quick response Brent,

I'll get a valve and give it a try. My kit instructions gave no indication that this would be needed but My recent (the past week) research, suggests that it's a good idea for any SC setup.

Tom

Junior SCH Member

Problem Resolved