Warning: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in ..../includes/class_bbcode.php on line 2958
Belt Tension help!!
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Belt Tension help!!

Junior SCH Member

Talking Belt Tension help!!

Hi Everyone!,

This is my first time here. I have a question on how tight to torque the serpentine belt to.
    I have a 7" crank and a 2.95" blower pulley and it would always slip. The most tension I tried was 70 ft lbs. I just put on a 3.33" and 45lbs of tension and no slip but only 6lbs of boost. I called Reichard racing and talked to the owner and he said that 70ft lbs was not excessive....... I am concerned tightening it that tight. I found on the ASP website that they recommend 65ft lbs on their COG systems, so I guess 70ft lbs on a serpentine is ok???

I'm going to try a 3" Reichard racing pulley and see what kind of boost I get, and hopefully it will not slip!!

How tight do you guy's run?? Has anyone seen main bearing wear with too tight a belt? If so how tight was your belt?

Thanks everyone!! You guy's can see my car in last Nov issue of 5.0 Magazine. The red S351 Saleen. I'm making around 570rwhp with the slipping belt! I was getting 6lbs at around 4250rpm then it would start slipping.

Sounds like you need the SCH system ;)

The system gives you two 1/2 Billet plates, all stainless hardware, and a tensioner that is second to none! The system will not flex, it is easy to use, and looks great.

Ian

Two things you can try.
    1. You can have the 2.95 bead blasted on the ribbed section. This provides a very rough surface for the belt to grip.
    2. Tighten the belt. Cog belts run ALOT lower tensions than the 8 rib serpentine setups. I know I had more than 100ft/ lbs at times last year. What I did is I tightened it up (tight) and work down a little at a time. I had mine tight for a while, then loosened it up and saw no drop off in boost so I left it there.

Hope this helps.