Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: what to use?

Junior SCH Member

Thumbs up what to use?

Hi im new to sch and great site bye the way. ok ive got a 406 smallblock chevy and i want to CHARGE IT its a carb setup with a dominator 1050,afr 220 heads WITH COMPITATION PACKAGE ,brodix hv1000 intake ,4340 crank ,manley 4340 H beam rods. The cam i have i am going to be changed and pistons i will change to because i will have to much comp with the wiscos and the cam is not a blower cam . My question is i want to go in the 9 sec zone in a 3000 lbs car what supercharger can make me get their without pushing it to its limit? D1,F2,F1 ? What blowoff valve? how much boost will i need ? Or can i put a f1 or f2 when on the track and when i want to street it remove the hat and belt and save the blower? ANY info would help

THANK YOU VERYMUCH IN ADVANCE :)

As for the Vortech SC'ers. The t-trim will put you there but near it limit as far as boost and impeller speed. The t-trim is a great street blower.

The YSi is definitly capable and well beyond 9's.

You will probably need some where near 17-20 psi with a 3,000# car.

As for Paxton the Novi 2000 would be a great fit.

As for the other brands, can't say.

Just go with a YSi or the Novi 2000. They easily have the capability of propelling the car in to the 9's, as long as the rest of the car is up to par.

Junior SCH Member
    ok had a look at the v7-ysi looks like its good for what i want to do hp wise do you think its ok. I have seen a kit for carbed application with the carb inclosure is this a good way to go like i said i dont mind not using it on the street but when i go to the track watch out. thanks for the feed back very helpful .

p.s KEEP IT COMING :)