Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: noob here, have a question

noob here, have a question

I've been searching all over for info on this, if it's old news then I appologize in advance.

I have ordered a Novi 1000 kit. Looking at the install instructions I got from Paxton's site I notice me not running the smog pump is going to be a problem.

My specific concern is the curved alternator support bracket from Paxton that runs from the smog pump to the alternator. I know a delete pulley will fix the belt routing problem but does it allow for mounting the alternator support bracket supplied by Paxton?

I'm tying to get the right parts rounded up in advance so any help would be appreciated. I do have my old smog pump as well if I need to use it.

Do I need a vac/boost gauge or just boost? I plan on getting the Bosch bypass valve. Which spark plugs while I'm here.

I know that there are several of us who have run w/o the smog pump, what you'll need to do is make a bracket to anchor the alt., you do not have to run a delete kit, the belt routing will work w/o anything there.

Vac/boost is what I have, mechanical gauge, pretty cheap. You will want to use plugs 1-2 heat ranges cooler, just the el cheapo copper plugs (no Platnum's) gap them down to around .032" to start. Definitely get the bypass, the driveability and all around street manners will improve dramatically.

What does the rest of your combo consist of???
    Quote Originally Posted by Kato Engineering
    you just like the metric system because when you talk about your organs length, a three digit number seems to you longer than a one digit number....
    Dart Block 331 and No Power Adder, currently in pieces...... :weird:

Used to run 6.90 @ 100.4 mph in the 1/8th

The smog elim does have provisions for the lil "L" bracket for alt. I Tried it without the elim and it would not clear the water pump. I think this is a two-belt version?