Thread: SN92 help

Junior SCH Member

SN92 help

Ok, I have finally got the Paxton on the 86' Mustang and checked everything out, everything seems functional. I now have the boost guage connected at the vaccum tree and went to get a reading to see what I'm pulling. I thought I would have gotten a decent amount of boost around 6. I seem to get getting around 2-3 lbs of boost and that is only at WOT. I went to check the belt and seem to be showing signs of slippage so I tighen it down a little be more and checked again. This time I got an average of 4.5. and a little sqeeling noise at the higher RPM, seems to be coming from the blower. and the belt jumped a little off the blower pulley.

I'm now a little lost for words. I'm new to the supercharging game here, so bare with me on this.

What would have caused the belt to jump like that now?
    Also I noticed that the reading on my gauge at Idle is reading about 15- 20 on the vaccum side is this normal?
    Now one thing I have noticed is when I hit WOT and get a boost reading I'll get around 3-5 and then it will start to fade downward before shifting, is this normal?
    Also how much boost should I be seeing with the setup of the stock paxton blower pulley, which I believe is 4.25. and one piece crank with the 7" and 4" crank pullies?

Overall I definately feel the power on the streets, no problem with that. I just sort of figured I would have a more stable reading without having it at WOT all the time just to get a boost reading.

Ben
    Keep the old school, old school

SCH Moderator "SN Guru" speedytang's Avatar
    5psi would be correct at WOT
    You need to check alignment of your blower-crank-tension pulley. The problem could even be flex of your bracket and at WOT your belt is jumping because of the belt vibrating because it is not keeping a constant tension.
    When the belt is off the supercharger how much in and out movement do you have on the front blower pulley bearing?